Great Taste, Less Filling

Don’t so many things you want, come with something you don’t?  Isn’t that why advertisers try to promise all that you want with nothing you don’t?

Today I left the house telling my Hubs, “I really don’t want to go–but I really want to have the time with them.”   “Them” being the gals of the bookclub.

Now, keep in mind that last time “we” met, I actually missed bookclub altogether because I forget to set my alarm and overslept.  And that was the first meeting.

Last night I looked through my inbox for the e-mail with the info on what we were to have read by today, etc.  I couldn’t find it.  I must have deleted it?  Whatever.  I decided I really wasn’t really going to stay up reading and it was too late at night to try to call or e-mail anyway.   Come morning I would just go and deal with it.  It’s a casual thing anyway, right?  It’s just a for-fun novel after all.

When I got there today, no one was at the house.  Not just “no one from the book club”–I mean no one.  I knocked.  I rang the bell.  No one answered.

Was today actually not the day the group was to meet?

Were they meeting elsewhere this time?

I still don’t know because when I called the hostess’ cell it went straight to her voicemail.  At least I think it was her voicemail.  I couldn’t be sure because it was one of those automated recordings:    “###-###-#### cannot take your call…”

So, this morning what I got was the part I didn’t want without the part I wanted:  No Taste, Just Filling

Blech.

2 thoughts on “Great Taste, Less Filling

Leave a comment